Facebook Icon

School Board Vacancy

Becoming a School Board Member

Two (2) vacancies exist on the Southern Humboldt Joint Unified School Board.  The district is seeking candidates to fill these positions.  Information regarding this vacancy can be found here: Board Vacancy Notice

The candidate application can be found here:  CANDIDATE INFORMATION SHEET

Pursuant to Education Code sections 5091 and 5328, the Board of Trustees of the Southern Humboldt Joint Unified School District intends to appoint a qualified person to the Board for each vacancy.

The provisional appointment for each vacancy will fill a shortened term ending December 2022.

The seats will go to election in November 2022 for a full four- year term.
The current members of the Board of Trustees will interview applicants in open session at a meeting on January 14, 2021

Applications are available at the Southern Humboldt Joint Unified School District Office located at:

110 School Rd
Miranda, CA 95553
and online at website:

Any person is eligible to be a member of the Board of Trustees, without further qualifications, if he/she is:

  • 18 years of age or older
  • a citizen of California
  • a resident of the school district
  • a registered voter
  • not legally disqualified from holding civil office

A person is disqualified from holding any office upon conviction of designated crimes specified in the Constitution and laws of the state. (Government Code 1021)

An employee of a school district may not be sworn into office as an elected or appointed member of that school district’s governing board unless and until he or she resigns as an employee.  If the employee does not resign, the employment will automatically terminate upon being sworn into office. (Education Code 35107)

Please visit the Humboldt County Registrar of Voters website for updated information.

Current SHUSD Board Members:

  • Barbara Lindsay – 2020
  • Thomas Mulder – 2022
  • Michelle Bushnell- 2022
  • Collett Fenske – 2022

Additional Information:



January 8, 2021 to the Office of the Superintendent by 4:00 p.m.